Son not being allowed on a school trip

Good afternoon my name is Kumba and I have a son aged 11 and I have just been informed by the school headmaster that his school trip this May whilst in his last year of junior school which includes an overnight stay has been canceled due to his Epilepsy.

Has anyone else experienced this is it legal? Where do I stand? What advice can anyone kindly give me? I feel this is discrimination please can someone help me thank you very much.

Hi, sorry to hear about your son’s experience. That must be very upsetting, especially for such an important trip at the end of primary school.

I am very surprised that the school are not supporting your son to go on the school trip. I am not a legal expert but my understanding is that under the Equality Act they are not allowed to discriminate against your son and should take reasonable steps to include him. It might be worth saying that to them and see how they respond?

My own daughter’s experience is that the school consider the risks associated with her epilepsy and any particular school trip and put in mitigations where necessary. They share a risk assessment with us in advance.

It definitely sounds like it is worth challenging the school’s decision in the first instance and see what they can do to include him.

Good luck!

1 Like

Thank you very much for your advice and responding to my page